by Cesare Pizzi & Jean-Lou Steinmann

PROJECT

Our ears perceive music as a continuous flow, made up of harmonies distributed over time.

Our eyes capture the images in real time and recreate the visual emotion.

This is our project-Twoflow-

twoflow is a creation consisting of a mashup of music and images. It is also a duo of Swiss origin created in 2016 by Cesare Pizzi (music) and Jean-Lou Steinmann (video). 

Cesare Pizzi is a historical and current member of The Young Gods. Jean-Lou Steinmann is a director and has produced and co-produced the first clips and a documentary for the group.

The music is composed of more than 500 elements. It is performed in real time while respecting the harmonies and tempos, this through a control surface thus leaving free choice of assembled sequences.

The images come from multiple sources and are reduced to loops format undergoing digital processing in real time. The musician is also filmed live and his image mixes with the loops. The video projection acts as lighting.

twoflow is resolutely dancing and psychedelic with a strong urban-jazz-clubbing influence, The 2 performers influence each other in a set of about 60 minutes and create a continuous flow giving birth to an improvisation mastered always in motion. Nothing is fixed, the work evolves according to the inspirations of each and the public influences them permanently. Everything is free of movement.

Between rhythms and algorithms

I have always oscillated between three areas of interest: music, technology and the influence of society in society. Along the way, I gained a triple background in Computer Engineering, Electronic Musician and Social Community Manager.

Fribourg, bassist at the Jazz school, computer scientist in the aerospace, prom musician with the mythical The Night.

Then Geneva, various music groups. Quickly with Franz Treichler, we create The Young Gods, which represents this meeting of music and raw technology.

A long time in the world of financial computing, automation, real-time networks and algorithms allows me to consolidate my computer knowledge. A Diploma from Community Manager, to better understand the impact of social networks on society.

The creation of a startup in the music industry, because I think the music needs an operation, an adventure still in progress ... with a priority patent

A new album with The Young Gods for this year and a return to the sources in Jazz with the project -twoflow- which materializes visual flows to the flows of Urban Jazz.

The musical work of the project -twoflow-
The musical work of the project -twoflow- How to create a reader who is listening to the musical planet? How to select a genre of music by tags, geolocated points and mix all by respecting the harmony and rhythm, in an automated way?

A universal jukebox!

An algorithm is certainly possible, but its implementation would be rather long, complex and expensive.

What if I did it myself, in a simple and accessible way? I would like to play the planet because our planet is musical.

So I started to locate jazz and funk radios on the net. I made a selection that corresponds to my tastes. I recorded about twenty shows over a short period of time, about 20 days. I had enough music to imagine what to do next.

A long work of listening began, imagining how to combine the whole into one work. Impossible, of course. I then reduced, extracted, recomposed parts, assembled sections and created a virtual instrument with which I could express myself.

-twoflow- a patchwork of urban-jazz that reflects the planet of December 2015. I can improvise the structure, play live and I love it!

The concept of this video creation consists of a mixture of images from multiple sources such as YouTube, existing personal images, specially created images as well as 3D animations created for the occasion.

These different images are reduced to the loop state and undergo special effect processing. These loops are then mixed live and broadcast on a giant screen behind the musician, also acting as lighting.

The musician is also filmed live and his image mixes with the loops.
This work is both "craft" and "psychedelic".

Jean-Lou Steinmann is a director, independent producer and founder of Mediateria. He has, among other things, the first clip of the Swiss rock band The Young Gods, "Envoyé", and then the clip "Rue des Tempêtes".

In coproduction with the TSR, he made a report about this group during his tour in the US, "TV Sky - The Young Gods US tour 1992". This report was chosen by the SSR to represent Switzerland at the Montreux Rose Gold Festival in 1993.

3D images

Multimedia creation, Reallusion Inc. 3D director .

Various audiovisual collaborations and co-productions.

VINYL

Cover 10 sides

Order Single Vinyl Twoflow

Single – 2 tracks

Stay Longer  4:18
Your Beat      5:01

Limited edition of 300 copies
Carte de téléchargement des fichiers MP3 et autocollant inclus

Music and programming concept : Cesare Pizzi
VJ and visual concept : Jean-Lou Steinmann

Mix : David Weber @ Studio Forces Motrices, Geneva – 2018
Mastering : Lad Agabekov @ Caduceus Mastering
Additional drumming : Bernard Trontin
Bernard Trontin plays on Zildjian cymbals
Logo : Laurent Scotti

Label : SouthWest Records Geneva

CHF 15.-

+ CHF 6.- shipping costs

NEWS

March 16, 2018

TWOFLOW – Cesare Pizzi, at Studio Forces Motrices, records 2 tracks of "TWOFLOW" project, "Stay longer" and "Your Beat" for a maxi single, which release is planned for the fall of 2018. David Weber does the recording and Bernard Trontin (drummer of the Young Gods) gives his rhythmic support on the title "Your Beat". Video directed by Jean-Lou Steinmann.

VISUALS

VIDEOS

IMAGES

Bateau Lavoir Geneva 14.10.2017
Jazz Plage Hermance 19.08.2017
Studio rehearsal

TOUR DATES

September 6, 2018

La Makhno, 4 Place des Volontaires, 1204 Genève
From 9 pm, free entrance

MEDIA

PRESS

NEWSLETTER

Suscribe to the newsletter

CONTACT

PRESSKIT

Professionals can get the complete press kit as well as the datasheets by registering to get the download link.

PRO

Cette page est protégée par un mot de passe.

Elle donne accès aux fichiers MP3 du vinyle, à une galerie de photos de presse, aux dossiers de presse vinyle et rider  PDF 

Vous pouvez sur demande obtenir le mot de passe à info@twoflow.com

 

Close Menu
English
Français English

by Cesare Pizzi & Jean-Lou Steinmann

PROJET

Nos oreilles perçoivent la musique comme un ‘flow’ continu, constitué d’harmonies distribuées dans le temps.

Nos yeux captent les images en temps réel et reconstituent l’émotion visuelle.

C’est notre projet -Twoflow-

twoflow est une création consistant en un mashup de musique et d’images. C’est aussi un duo d’origine suisse créé en 2016 par Cesare Pizzi (musique) et Jean-Lou Steinmann( video). 

Cesare Pizzi est membre historique et actuel du groupe « The Young Gods ». Jean-Lou Steinmann est réalisateur  et a entre autres réalisé  et co-produit les premiers clips et un documentaire pour le groupe.

La musique est composée de plus de 500 éléments. Elle est performée  en temps réel tout en respectant les harmonies et les tempos, ceci par le biais d’une surface de contrôle  laissant ainsi le libre choix des séquences assemblées.

Les images proviennent de sources multiples et sont réduites au format de loops subissant des traitements numériques en temps réel. Le musicien est également filmé en live et son image se mêle ainsi aux loops. La projection vidéo fait office d’éclairage.

twoflow est résolument dansant et psychédélique avec une forte influence urban-jazz-clubbing, Les 2 performers s’influencent mutuellement dans un set d’environ 60 minutes et créent un flow continu donnant naissance à une improvisation maîtrisée toujours en mouvement. Rien n’est figé, l’œuvre évolue selon les inspirations de chacun et le public les influence en permanence. Tout est libre de mouvement.

Ludan twoflow

Entre rythmes et algorithmes

J’ai toujours oscillé entre trois pôles d’intérêt : la musique, la technologie et l’influence de celle-ci dans la société. Au long de ma route, j’ai acquis un triple bagage d’ingénieur en informatique, de musicien électronique et de Social Community Manager.

Fribourg, élève bassiste à la Jazz school , informaticien dans l’aérospatiale, musicien de bal avec le mythique The Night.

Puis Genève, divers groupes de musique. Rapidement avec Franz Treichler, nous créons The Young Gods, qui représente bien cette rencontre de musique et de technologie brute.

Un long passage dans le monde de l’informatique financière, de l’automation, des réseaux en temps réel et des algorithmes me permet de consolider mes connaissances informatiques. Un diplôme de Community Manager, pour mieux comprendre l’impact des réseaux sociaux sur la société.

La création d’une startup dans l’industrie de la musique, car je pense que la musique a besoin d’une opération, aventure toujours en cours… avec un brevet de priorité

Un nouvel album avec The Young Gods pour cette année et un retour aux sources dans le Jazz avec le projet -twoflow- qui matérialise des flux visuels aux flux du Jazz-Urbain.

Le travail musical du projet -twoflow-
Comment créer un lecteur qui soit à l’écoute la planète musicale ? Comment sélectionner un genre de musique par des tags, des points géolocalisés et mixer l’ensemble en respectant l’harmonie et la rythmique, de manière automatisée ?

Un juke-box universel !

Un algorithme est certainement possible, mais sa mise en œuvre serait plutôt longue, complexe et coûteuse.

Et si je le faisais moi-même, d’une manière simple et accessible ? Je voudrais faire jouer la planète, car notre planète est musicale.

J’ai donc commencé à repérer les radios jazz et funk sur le net. J’ai fait une sélection qui correspond à mes goûts. J’ai enregistré une vingtaine d’émissions sur un laps de temps assez court, environ 20 jours. J’avais assez de musique pour imaginer la suite.

Un long travail d’écoute a démarré, en imaginant comment combiner l’ensemble en une seule œuvre. Impossible, bien sûr. J’ai alors réduit, extrait, recomposé des parties, assemblé des sections et créé un instrument virtuel avec lequel je pouvais m’exprimer.

-twoflow- un patchwork d’ urban-jazz qui reflète la planète de décembre 2015. Je peux improviser la structure, jouer en live et j’adore ça !

Jloux 2 twoflow

Le concept de cette création vidéo consiste en un mélange d’images provenant de sources multiples telles que YouTube, des images personnelles existantes, des images spécialement réalisées ainsi que des animations 3D créées pour l’occasion.

Ces différentes images sont réduites à l’état de loop et subissent un traitement d’effets spéciaux. Ces loops sont ensuite mixées en live et diffusées sur un écran géant se trouvant derrière le musicien, faisant également office d’éclairage.

Le musicien est également filmé en live et son image se mêle ainsi aux loops.
Ce travail se veut à la fois  » artisanal  » et  » psychédélique « .

Jean-Lou Steinmann est réalisateur, producteur indépendant, fondateur de Mediateria. Il signe, entre autres, le premier clip du groupe de rock suisse The Young Gods, » Envoyé », puis le clip « Rue des Tempêtes ».

En coproduction avec la TSR, il réalise un reportage consacré à ce groupe lors de sa tournée aux USA, « TV Sky – The Young Gods US tour 1992 ». Ce reportage fut choisi par la SSR pour représenter la Suisse au Festival de la Rose d’Or de Montreux en 1993.

Manu twoflow5

Réalisation des images 3D intégrées dans le flow vidéo.

Création multimédia, 3D director agréé Reallusion Inc.

Diverses collaborations et coproductions audiovisuelles.

VINYL

Pochette dépliante 10 faces

Commande Single Vinyl Twoflow

45 tours – 2 titres

Stay Longer  4:18
Your Beat      5:01

Edition collector limitée à 300 exemplaires
Carte de téléchargement des fichiers MP3 et autocollant inclus

Music and programming concept : Cesare Pizzi
VJ and visual concept : Jean-Lou Steinmann

Mix : David Weber @ Studio Forces Motrices, Geneva – 2018
Mastering : Lad Agabekov @ Caduceus Mastering
Additional drumming : Bernard Trontin
Bernard Trontin plays on Zildjian cymbals
Logo : Laurent Scotti

Label : SouthWest Records Geneva

CHF 15.-

+ CHF 6.- de frais d’envoi

NEWS

15 novembre 2018

29 novembre 2018

VISUELS

VIDEOS

IMAGES

Bateau Lavoir Geneva 14.10.2017
Jazz Plage Hermance 19.08.2017
Studio rehearsal

DATES

15 novembre 2018

Vernissage du vinyle et showcase

Magasin de disques Dig-It, Rue de la Servette 3, 1201 Genève
Dès 18h

29 novembre 2018

Live set Genève

Towflow_CHAMPNESLE_29 nov 2018

MEDIA

PRESSE

CONTACT

PRO

Cette page est protégée par un mot de passe.

Elle donne accès pour les professionnels aux fichiers MP3 du vinyle, à une galerie de photos de presse, aux dossiers de presse vinyle et rider  PDF. 

Vous pouvez sur demande obtenir le mot de passe à info@twoflow.com ou par le formulaire de contact.

 

Fermer le menu
Français
English Français